Swarna Prashana

jss_ayurveda_mysuru_075

Swarna Prashana is a process in which SWARNA(GOLD) or “HERBS WITH GOLD” is given in the form of liquid, semi solid or paste form to children. ‘Swarna’ means ‘Gold’ and ‘Prashana’ means ‘to eat’.

Benefits:

  • Improves immune system, physical strength and digestion power
  • Improves grasping and retention power and memory
  • Tones up skin and imparts fairer complexion
  • Protects children from illness that occur due to seasonal change
  • Protects children from allergies

Time and frequency of administration:

Swarna Prashana needs to be administered for six months, on the day of Pushya Nakshatra. This day arrives after every 27 days. Pushya constellation is said to have Pushti (Strengthening) and Poshana (Nourishing) qualities. Hence this constellation is chosen to administer Suvarna prashan.

Age: Swarna Prashan could be administered to a new born infant to a 16 year old child. However, it is most beneficial for children up to five years of age.

Ingredients of Swarna Prashana: Gold, Vacha, Shankh Pushpi, Brahmi, Ashwagandha, honey, cow’s ghee, etc.

Swarnaprashana Calender – 2017

Month Date Day
January 13 Friday
February 10 Friday
March 09 Thursday
April 05 Wednesday
May 02 Tuesday
May 30 Tuesday
June 26 Monday
July 24 Monday
August 20 Sunday
September 16 Saturday
October 14 Saturday
November 10 Friday
December 07 Thursday